New testing board I put together

Here’s a nice picture of a new pedalboard I put together yesterday. The pedals at PHQ were getting in a bit of a mess so I decided to invest in a Pedaltrain Junior to tidy them up a bit. Plus, I bought a new Voodoo Labs Pedal Power Plus 2 which is mounted underneath. The PT Jnr now has two holes cut out at the back of the frame which are obviously made with the PP2 in mind – the socket positions are exactly right once it is mounted (I use 3M Dual Lock).

So here it is:

Photo_87F2855B-88FD-2B33-ECB7-4D2437541AFE

Sequence is:

Guitar –> Plutoneium Chi-Wah-Wah – Barber Dirty Bomb –> Fulltone Catalyst –> BB Preamp –> One Control Mesquite Blender –> Mod Tone Delay.   To those who are wondering, no, I don’t use all those distortions/overdrives turned on at once.

Now – the One Control Mesquite Blender is a little pedal I’m quite excited about – it’s a true/hard bypass looper with a difference – in that it has a wet/dry mixer knob on it so I can blend the amount of the effects in the loop to my desires. It’s the next logical evolution from the true-bypass looper I had before which was custom made and had no blend – it just switched things in and out.

In the loop, I have put some modulation/reverb effects. There’s the EVH Phase 90 –> Guyatone Flanger -> EHX Reverb. None of these have there own mix/level control, so the One Control Mesquite Blender works great here as the mixer. So the signal comes in from the BB Preamp into the One Control, then if the pedal is off, it goes straight out to my delay. When I turn it on, it brings the Phaser, Flanger and Reverb into the chain (which I can also turn on and off individually).

Photo_AFFCA051-E4C1-70B1-091D-BF5FB4B2FE1C

It’s a beautifully made little pedal too and it feels very solid. The finish has a brushed anodized look which is beyond classy – it reeks of high quality. The control knob has a nice firm feel to it too. I highly recommend it – more info here: http://www.ninevolt-japan.com/

Leave a Reply

